Food security and nutrition assessment in refugee settlements and Kampala, December 2020 - Uganda


Uganda hosts refugees and asylum seekers from several countries, most of them from South Sudan (62%), the Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC) (29%), Burundi (3%) and Somalia (3%). They leave their countries in search of protection from several factors, most of which are conflict-related. At the end of February 2021, the total number of refugees and asylum seekers in Uganda was 1,462,164, of whom 81% were women and children. Most of the refugees live in settlements and host communities in the West Nile, Midwest and Southwest Uganda subregions. The existence of refugees and the influx of newly arriving asylum seekers into Uganda increase the demand for basic services and put pressure on common resources in both the refugee settlements and the host communities. The provision of services for refugees and host communities not only serves to stabilize, develop independence and resilience to shocks, but also helps to strengthen peaceful coexistence between the two population groups. The government of Uganda (GoU) provides with the support of humanitarian and development actors (UNHCR, WFP, UNICEF, FAO, UNFPA, partner organizations u, water, sanitation and hygiene services (WASH), education, fuel, housing and economic integration.

The Government of Uganda (UBOS, MoH, OPM, MAAIF) and development and humanitarian actors UNHCR, WFP and UNICEF conducted the annual Food Security and Nutrition Assessment for Refugees (FSNA) to inform and program multi-stakeholder programming through key recommendations Prioritize identifying areas of intervention for the benefit of refugees and their host communities. The Nutrition Survey includes key modules on demography, anthropometry, child health, food security, infant and young child nutrition (IYCF), maternal health and nutrition, WASH, mosquito net cover, and mortality rates, among others.

We urge everyone involved in the study areas to use the findings of FSNA 2020 to plan the PoCs and their hosts appropriately.

Dr. Diana Atwine
Permanent secretary
Ministry of Health